Asian Athletics Championships

Jinson Johnson to focus on 1500m to make Tokyo cut

The Asian Athletics Championships in Doha saw an unfamiliar sight. Jinson Johnson, India’s premier middle-distance runner, could not finish the 800m final after suffering a calf injury.

published on : 8th May 2019

Swapna Barman settles for silver in heptathlon, Jinson pulls out of 1500m

Barman's aggregate points on Tuesday was more than the 5942 she had logged while winning the gold in the last edition

published on : 23rd April 2019

Asian Athletics Championships: Unheralded Gomathi, Toor win gold

With the five medals on Monday, India's medal tally stood at 2 gold, 3 silver and 5 bronze.

published on : 22nd April 2019

Torch bearers at Asian Athletics Championships

Asian Games gold winner in 1500m, he will hope to better the silver he won in 800m in Indonesia last year.

published on : 20th April 2019

 Gulf between dream and reality

Confident of defending gold despite missing Dharun, relay team expects competition from hosts Qatar at Asian Championship

published on : 20th April 2019

Through hurdles & hardships, third opportunity at 30 for Gomathi Marimuthu

 The average age of Indian athletes winning international medals has reduced of late. Sprinter Hima Das and shooter Saurabh Chaudhary are examples.

published on : 19th April 2019

Ban taken in stride, Rohit Yadav finds his range again

For an 18-year-old, Rohit Yadav has already had quite some drama in his life.

published on : 17th April 2019

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik felicitates team India medallists

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, on Monday, felicitated all the Indian medal winners of the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships which concluded on Sunday.

published on : 11th July 2017

High-performance sports academy to come up at Kalinga stadium in Odisha

Even as the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships opened with unprecedented buzz, the Odisha Government has taken the first big leap towards building the future of athletics in the State.

published on : 6th July 2017