Rajya Sabha bypolls

Bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats from UP announced

The election will be held on September 23 and the counting will take place on the same evening.

published on : 29th August 2019

Neeraj Shekhar is BJP's Rajya Sabha bypoll candidate from Uttar Pradesh

His win is all but certain due to the overwhelming majority the party enjoys in the state Assembly.

published on : 8th August 2019

Election Commission announces bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats

The counting of votes will be held on August 26 evening after the elections.

published on : 1st August 2019

Gujarat Congress to issue whip for July 5 Rajya Sabha bypolls

The bypolls in Gujarat will be held for the two vacant Rajya Sabha seats where the main opposition party is pitted against the ruling BJP in a straight fight.

published on : 1st July 2019

Congress targets Odisha government over Ashwini Vaishnav's candidature for Rajya Sabha seat

Congress alleges the Rajya Sabha nominee has close business links with a few dubious mining companies in Odisha.

published on : 27th June 2019

Supreme Court ​dismisses Gujarat Congress plea against Rajya Sabha by-polls

In the 182-member Gujarat Assembly, the BJP has 100 MLAs, Congress 71 while seven seats are vacant.

published on : 25th June 2019

Day after Odisha RS bypoll nomination, former IAS officer Ashwini Vaishnav joins BJP

BJD chief Naveen Patnaik had announced his party's support to Vaishnav in the Odisha bypolls, which fuelled allegations from Congress of a 'deal' between the two warring parties.

published on : 22nd June 2019

ECI announces polls to three vacant Odisha Rajya Sabha seats

However, the ECI has not announced election to the fourth Rajya Sabha seat which was vacated by BJD member Anubhav Mohanty who won from Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat.

published on : 16th June 2019

By-elections to six Rajya Sabha seats on July 5: Election Commission

According to a press note from the Election Commission, the filing of nominations will begin on June 18 and go on to June 25. The candidatures could be withdrawn up to June 28.

published on : 16th June 2019