Pakistan President ratifies Election Reforms Bill 2017, unblocks Sharif’s return

Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain has ratified the Elections Bill 2017 and paved the way for former prime minister Nawaz Sharif to become Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president.

Published: 03rd October 2017 10:57 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd October 2017 10:57 AM   |  A+A-

Nawaz Sharif. (File photo| AFP)


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain has ratified the Elections Bill 2017 which was passed by the National Assembly on Monday and paved the way for former prime minister Nawaz Sharif to become Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president.
The Election Bill, 2017, commonly known as Electoral Reforms Bill which was already been approved by the Senate, was subsequently signed into law by President Mamnoon Hussain late Monday night.
A controversial clause in the bill allows disqualified politicians to hold a public office or to lead a political party, Geo News reported.
The opposition members in the National Assembly protested the passing of the bill and tore copies of it after it was presented by Law Minister Zahid Hamid.
Members of the opposition also chanted slogans against Nawaz Sharif.
The Assembly also rejected the amendment to the bill presented by the Jamaat-e-Islami.
While addressing the National Assembly, Awami Muslim League Chief Sheikh Rasheed had spoken against the bill.
“You are risking the country's democracy over one person," he said, adding “You have attacked the Supreme Court with a rocket launcher.”
Nawaz Sharif does not even want to see his brother (Shehbaz Sharif) as a party leader, he remarked.
“You can start digging the grave of democracy with your majority,” he said while referring to the PML-N parliamentarians.
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi said that the clause 203 of the bill is against the spirit of the country's Constitution.
Sharif had relinquished the position of PML-N chief after his ouster from power under the July 28 verdict of the Supreme Court in the Panama Papers case.
The Representation of Peoples Act 1976 bars anyone who is ineligible to become a member of parliament from holding office in a political party.
Ever since the Supreme Court's verdict, the PML-N has been run by its acting president Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasar, a senator from Balochistan. 

Stay up to date on all the latest World news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp