BANGALORE: At the east end of M G Road, what used to be known as Parade Grounds, lies the humble Holy Trinity Church, a famous landmark and also the name of a Metro station. Trinity is a Protestant church built in 1852 to accommodate the increasing English speaking congregation in the Cantonment area of Bangalore. Earlier, St Mark’s was the only church for the British Regiment in Bangalore. As Christians in the area grew, there was a demand to build another church but, the British had a rule that a station could have only one church.
After much agitation, the demand was fulfilled in the form of the Holy Trinity Church. Not as grand as St Mark’s, Trinity is beautiful in its own unassuming and elegant way. It is a mini-British era museum in itself. Simple on the outside, the church interiors are the exact opposite. Even today, one can find lovely church accessories brought all the way from London here.
The area near the altar is where the action is. The intricately carved wooden podium, the shining bronze bible pedestal, the polished wooden choir benches celebrate spirituality. The wooden fixture on the ceiling with angels carved on the ends, guarding the Holy of Holies, is a sight to behold. However, the first thing that catches the eye when you enter the church is the stained glass painting that depicts the Baptism of Jesus. If the church doors are open, you can spot the glass sparkling in the sunshine from as far as the gate.
The church walls are adorned with memorial tablets of those important Britishers who lost their lives in the war dedicated by friends and family. Some of these are made in London; the craftsmanship says it all. The big church bell is also from a London firm Mears Foundry.
Built in the English Renaissance style, the Church that could accommodate 700 people was considered to be the largest Garrison (military) Church in South India. The credit for the interior design goes to one Rev W W Lutyens.
After Indian Independence and the subsequent formation of the Church of South India in 1947, Trinity church, as with many other churches, saw various developments. At first military priests were posted at the church. Later, Indian families took over and services in local languages began. In 1965, the church that was called Holy Trinity Garrison Pastorate was renamed as the Holy Trinity Church.
Now, the residence of the Bishop of the Karnataka Central Diocese is in the compound of the church. There is an old age home and a girls’ hostel on premises. Hiding behind other grand churches, the Trinity keeps a low profile, a unique landmark never craving for attention stunning any curious visitor with its beauty.