Jaya forms 10-member panel to address state’s power shortage

Published: 18th October 2012 02:30 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th October 2012 02:30 PM   |  A+A-


Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Wednesday constituted a 10-member committee headed by State Minister for Electricity R Viswanathan to resolve the prevailing power shortage in the State at the earliest. The committee will review the power situation every Monday and submit its report to the Chief Minister.

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting chaired by the Chief Minister at the Secretariat.

The meeting discussed in detail the present power shortage, the ways to resolve it and to expedite the execution of the new power projects for which works are in progress.

Apart from the Electricity Minister, the committee will comprise Minister for Local Administration, KP Munusamy, Chief Secretary Debendranath Sarangi, Energy Secretary Ramesh Kumar Khanna, TNEB Chairman K Gnanadesikan, Agriculture Secretary Sandeep Saxena, Municipal Administration Secretary Sheela Balakrishnan, Finance Secretary K Shanmugam, Home Secretary R Rajagopal and Principal Secretary II to the Chief Minister, P Rama Mohan Rao.

Ever since the present government took charge, the Chief Minister has been frequently reviewing the power situation in the State and expediting the progress of ongoing projects to augment the power generation at the earliest.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp