BJP Blooms in Shanthinagar, Congress a Notch Up in Bommanahalli

Published: 26th August 2015 04:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th August 2015 08:15 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU: The BBMP election results came as a surprise to many as some candidates won in wards which were considered as forts of other parties. Here is how the fortunes of the parties changed this election.

The influence of former minister V Somanna in Vijayanagar and Govindarajnagar assembly constituencies has waned. When Somanna quit the Congress and joined the BJP in 2009, many of his supporters followed him and contested the BBMP elections in 2010 and  BJP won 14 of the 17 wards.

Daughter Achieves What Father Couldn't Last Time

MIM's Entry Scuttled Our Party's Prospects: SDPI

We Chose the Best of the Worst: Citizens

While BJP Celebrates, Two Other Major Parties Sulk

Citizens Skeptical, Yet Hopeful

Husbands Toil, Spouses Win

BJP Just About Retains BBMP

Amit Shah Elated

Officials Seize Rs 1.5 Crore from Congress man's House 

Now both the constituencies are represented by Congress and BJP’s tally has come down to 11.

Yelahanka, represented by BJP MLA Vishwanath, has four wards. Previously all four were represented by BJP but this time, Vishwanath’s wife Vanishree lost to a Congress candidate.

K R Puram, which was once a safe zone for BJP, had eight BJP councillors out of nine wards. Now it won only in three wards with Congress increasing its tally from one to six.

BJP regained its hold on Basavanagudi by winning all six wards this time. Earlier, Congress and JD(S) had won one ward each.

Congress has made inroads into BJP stronghold Bommanahalli by winning one ward. BJP had held all eight wards in the previous term. According to Congress leaders, Bommanahalli is a tough fort for Congress to breach.

JD(S) has opened its account in BTM Layout assembly constituency, represented by City-in-charge Minister Ramalinga Reddy. Congress has maintained its tally of five seats while BJP has managed to win two wards as against the three in the previous election.

Agriculture Minister Krishna Byregowda is being credited for the Congress winning four seats in Byatarayanapura from its previous tally of one seat.

Interestingly, Shanthinagar that had hardcore Congress voters, has turned to BJP this time. Represented by Congress MLA N A Haris, the BJP has won in four seats.

In Mahadevapura, Congress has lost four seats and managed to win in just three wards.

In Rajarajeshwarinagar, where the MLA was from the BJP, the party had won five wards out of nine. Now, with Congress MLA Muniratna representing the constituency, the BJP managed win in just three wards and Congress has increased its tally to five.

In C V Raman Nagar, BJP has won in just three wards from its previous score of seven, despite the assembly constituency being represented by its MLA S Raghu.

Both the Congress and BJP have retained the number of wards held at Gandhinagar at five and wards respectively.

BJP seems to have lost some grip on Malleswaram as its tally has reduced from six to five.

BJP has won in Singasandra, the only BBMP ward in Anekal, which incidentally is represented by the Congress in the Assembly.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp