5 Dedicated Babus to Head 8 BBMP Zones

Published: 12th December 2015 06:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th December 2015 06:59 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU:  Residents will no longer have to go all the way to the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) headquarters to meet officials and get their problems resolved. They can now go to the senior IAS/ IFS officer appointed in charge of their zone.

On Wednesday, BBMP Commissioner Kumar Naik issued an order to reduce citizens’ travelling time to register their grievances with the authorities. He has designated senior IAS and IFS officers to be in charge of the various zones.

5 Dedicated.JPGFive officials — four IAS officers and one IFS man — have been selected. Rashmi V Mahesh will handle East and Bommanahalli zones, Subodh Yadav will take care of South and West zones,

IFS officer Kumar Pushkar will look after Yelahanka, while Ravishankar and Hemaji Naik have been given Mahadevapura-Dasarahalli and Rajarajeshwarinagar zones respectively.

Kumar Naik told Express that there are many powers which has been entrusted upon the zonal commissioners. But many of them are not exercised now. “Now with the designation of senior IAS and IFS officers, these zonal commissioners can consult them instead of waiting for my approval. They can sign the files and go ahead,” he said.

He also said the IAS/IFS officers will work from the head office, but would visit their zones regularly and interact with officials and citizens.

Recently, the High Court issued notice to the state government and BBMP over non-IAS/KAS officials being posted as joint commissioners or deputy commissioners. Last year, the BBMP Employees Union gave a memorandum to the then mayor demanding that non-IAS/KAS officials should not be chosen for these posts. However, commissioner Naik said the new order had nothing to do with these incidents.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp