Intense Campaigning Comes to An End

After two weeks of enthusiastic canvassing by the three major contenders in the council polls, it is now time for meeting with voters

Published: 26th December 2015 04:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th December 2015 04:01 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU: Public campaigning for the elections to the 25 seats of legislative council ended on Friday. However, the parties are free to indulge in door-to-door campaign and meet voters in person, seeking votes.

The elections will be held on Sunday (December 27) and the votes will be counted on December 30.

The two-weeks of no-holds-barred electioneering saw all three major contenders — the ruling Congress, BJP and the JD(S) — locking horns and attacking each other on failures.

While the contest appeared direct between the Congress and the BJP in most of the constituencies, the strong presence of JD(S) in old-Mysuru region has made the contest triangular.

While Congress depended heavily on the advantageous position it is in being the party in power to win the elections, the BJP weaved its campaign mainly around  the failures of the Congress government and highlighted its alleged failure in taking up drought relief works.

The JD(S) has seen making all-out efforts to stay relevant in the state politics by evoking an argument of national versus regional parties.

The fierce campaign also saw the ugly display of money power with parties allegedly splurging somewhere between Rs 15,000 and Rs 60,000 a vote. There were also reports of gifting of smartphones, gold chains, package tours to voters by some candidates.

Though, the results of these elections will not have any bearing on the state politics, they might indicate the prevailing political mood in the state.

But on a personal level, the results might help Congress or the BJP. The victory in over 18 seats would give Congress the majority in the Upper House and the Chairman’s post. Presently, D H Shankaramurthy of BJP is the chairman owing to the largest party status of the BJP in  the 75 member house.

In the 25 seats for which election are being held on Sunday, 13 were represented by the Congress (including independent member Raghu Achar who joined the Congress), 7 from the Congress and five from the JD(S).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp