Bruhata Bengaluru Mahnagara Palike zone rejig in limbo as Congress MLAs object

Congress MLAs from Bengaluru have objected to the Urban Development Department’s order to increase the number of zones in the BBMP from eight to ten.

Published: 19th September 2017 05:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th September 2017 08:08 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

BENGALURU: In an embarrassment to the State government, Congress MLAs from Bengaluru have objected to the Urban Development Department’s order to increase the number of zones in the Bruhata Bengaluru Mahnagara Palike (BBMP) from eight to ten. This has led to a delay in the reorganisation of zones.

The MLAs concerned suspect that the move would lead to a backlash ahead of the Assembly polls next year. The order dated June 12, 2017 issued by K A Hidayuttulla, Deputy  Secretary (Urban Development Department), says that due to uneven geographical areas under the zones, there was disparity in the tax collection and fund allotment. Increasing the zones may help in the efficient disposal of garbage.
Sources in BBMP said that the civic agency had decided to keep the plan on hold. “Zonal  restructuring was suggested for administrative reasons. The number of wards and Assembly constituency would remain the same. This has taken a political colour,’’ sources said.

A senior official from Urban Development Department said there had been no progress on the matter, so far. “Some Congress MLAs don’t favour this move.  They say that change in zonal offices would inconvenience the voters, who would blame the Congress. They think this will have a negative impact on them in the election next year,” he said.

Yeshwantpur MLA S T Somashekar from Congress said that his Assembly constituency falls under Rajarajeshwari Nagar zone. However, under the new zone, the BBMP office would be in Dasarahalli on Hesaraghatta Road. “People living in Thalaghattapura in my constituency have to travel at least 40km to reach the zone office. The old  Rajarajeshwarinagar zone office is about 10 km away from Thalaghattapura. I have raised this objection. Why should people from my constituency suffer?’’ he asked. When asked if his objection was embarrassing to the government, he said: “This is why I just objected, otherwise I would  have protested.”

“It’s not just me, Rajarajeshwari Nagar MLA Munirathna, a Congress member, has objected for the same reason,’’ Somashekar added. However, Munirathna did not say much. The 100 wards of Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike were increased to 198 in 2007, besides increasing the corporation’s area.

The State government has stressed that a mayor and a commissioner cannot handle such a huge area. Later, a BBMP Restructuring Committee was constituted, headed  by former Chief Secretary B S Patil along with other members- former BBMP Commissioner Siddaiah and urban development expert V  Ravichandar. The committee favoured splitting of the BBMP for better administration. One of the major recommendations of the committee was to  have even-sized zones in BBMP.

How will the new zones be different?

Under the new system, South, East and West Zones would be replaced with Jayanagar, Malleswaram, Gandhinagar, Sarvajnanagar and Vijayanagar  zones. The remaining zones --Yelahanka, Dasarahalli, Mahadevapura,  Bommanahalli and Rajarajeshwarainagar zones --would retain their names.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp