Honorary doctorates: Bangalore University awaits Governor nod

After a gap of two years, officials of Bangalore University  are hoping that they will be permitted to confer honorary doctorates this year.

Published: 26th January 2018 01:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th January 2018 10:41 AM   |  A+A-

Bangalore University 

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: After a gap of two years, officials of Bangalore University  are hoping that they will be permitted to confer honorary doctorates this year. They are keeping their fingers crossed for a go ahead from Governor and Chancellor of state universities Vajubhai Vala.  The university’s 53rd annual convocation is scheduled to be held on February 8.

As the university has not awarded honorary doctorates for two years, the authorities of hopeful of doing it at least this year. During 2017,  the governor gave his consent to give honorary doctorate to cricketer  Rahul Dravid, who declined to receive it saying that he  wanted to earn it by doing research work. In  2016, the university did not award any honorary doctorates because of difference of opinion amongst the Syndicate members.

According to university sources, this time five names have been recommended of which two are Veerabadhra  Channamalla Swamiji of Nidumamidi Mutt and Sivananda  Shivayogi Rajendra Swamiji of Kodi Mutt in Arasikere. Along with these, the names of cricketer Venkatesh Prasad, writer Devanuru Mahadeva and Justice Gopala Gowda have been sent to the governor.

These  recommendation of names by the university will be placed before an expert committee constituted by the Governor. The committee will look into the merits of each name before sending the final list of awardees to the governor for his consent.

Speaking  to Express, a senior official of the university said, “The convocation is  nearing and we have not received any communication from Raj Bhavan yet.  We also need to communicate the same to  the people we are conferring  the honorary doctorates on and get confirmation/acceptance from them.”

According to sources, even this year, some syndicate members  proposed the names of some senior politicians, including Chief Minister  Siddaramaiah. But, considering the previous controversy, authorities  decided to exclude names of any political leaders from the recommended  list.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp