Bengaluru to host two-day RSS annual meet in March

In view of the pandemic, the number of delegates attending the meet this year has been reduced.

Published: 19th January 2021 06:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th January 2021 09:25 AM   |  A+A-

RSS, RSS flag

For representational purposes (Photo | PTI)

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: Karnataka, which has managed the Covid-19 situation quite well, will play host to the Akhil Bharatiya Pratinidhi Sabha (ABPS), the highest decision-making body of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), in March. The meeting was earlier planned to be held in Nagpur, Maharasthra.

With the neigbouring state witnessing a high number of Covid-positive cases every day, there was apprehension that the government there could restrict number of people assembling in one place.  Top RSS functionaries will now descend on Bengaluru for a two-day brainstorming session from March 19, which will be held at the Janaseva Vidya Kendra, Channenahalli, located on Magadi Road.

In 2020, the meeting was originally scheduled to be held in Bengaluru from March 15 to 17 and around 1,400 members were expected to attend. But it was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Now, with the state witnessing a decline in Covid-19 cases, it was again chosen to host the annual event.

There is speculation that the election to the top executive post of RSS, the Sarkaryavah (General Secretary), will also take place during the two-day meeting. The election is conducted once in three years. 

Only 500 delegates to attend RSS B’luru meet

Suresh ‘Bhaiyyaji’ Joshi was elected Sarkaryavah in 2018 and the three-year term ends this year. The Sarkaryavah is the only elected post in the RSS. Normally, 1,400 representatives across the country elect or endorse the candidate for general secretary.

However, this year, due to pandemic, the number of delegates will be restricted to 500. The meeting will also discuss various social issues like education and health apart from organisational policies. Top functionaries including Sarsanghchalak Mohan Bhagat, Bhayyaji Joshi, Dattatreya Hosabale, Dr Manmohan Vaidya, Dr Krishna Gopal, Suresh Soni, C R Mukunda and others will take part.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp