DMK Forms Four-member Panel to Hold Seat-sharing Talks

The DMK today constituted a four-member committee to hold talks on seat-sharing with alliance parties.

Published: 12th March 2016 07:09 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th March 2016 07:09 PM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: The DMK today constituted a four-member committee to hold talks on seat-sharing with alliance parties. For the current Assembly elections, DMK is the first party to form committee for seat-sharing. The committee has been constituted after a meeting chaired by party president M Karunanidhi.  


The committee will be comprised of senior leaders of the DMK - MK Stalin, treasurer, Durai Murugan, principal secretary, I Periyasamy, deputy general secretary and organising secretary RS Bharathi.  A few days ago, the party had completed interviewing 4,000 aspirants who had sought party ticket to contest the elections.


On March 12, Stalin had said that the decision of DMDK founder Vijaykant to go it alone in the Assembly elections would not affect the winning prospects of the DMK.  Following this, the party has decided to expedite other works like finalising the election manifesto and the list of candidates.  As part of this exercise, the DMK today formed the committee for holding talks on seat-sharing.


Already, the DMK has Congress and IUML in its camp.  The Puthiya Thamizhagam which has been expressing solidarity with the DMK is yet to announce its official stand. The DMK is trying to rope in some more smaller parties to face the elections.

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp