Radha bowls Warriors to creditable win

Left-arm spinner R Radha’s fifer  paved the way for White Warriors to beat Red Rangers by 26 runs in the third round of the TNCA -Indian Bank Trophy limited overs tournament, played at CPT-IP Grounds

Published: 22nd June 2018 10:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd June 2018 05:36 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Left-arm spinner R Radha’s fifer  paved the way for White Warriors to beat Red Rangers by 26 runs in the third round of the TNCA -Indian Bank Trophy limited overs tournament, played at CPT-IP Grounds on Friday. L Nethra’s 102 went in vain for Red Rangers.

Brief scores: Yellow Challengers 217 in 49 ovs (KN Ramyashri 45, S Aruna Devi 49) bt Silver Strikers 149 in 43.3 ovs (SB Keerthana 74). Pts: YC 4 (12); SS 0 (8). White Warriors 176 in 48.1 ovs (P Thejashree 54, V Vilasini 39, B Jenitha 3/17) bt Red Rangers 150 in 42.3 ovs (L Nethra 102, R Radha 5/28). Pts: WW 4 (12);  RR 0 (0). Blue Avengers 77 in 31.1 ovs (R Roshini 3/10) lost to Green Invaders 78/3 in 22.3 ovs (N Niranjana 40 n.o). Pts: GI 4 (4); BA 0 (0).

IOC storms into semis

Yeshasvi Jaiswal’s unbeaten 77  helped IOC, Mumbai thrash Nelson SC by 10 wickets and enter the semifinals of the 49th All-India YSCA Trophy. Brief scores: Athreya CA, Thrissur 165/8 in 30 ovs (Joffin Jose 35, Rohith 75) lost to AG’s Office 167/9 in 29.3 ovs (S Dinesh 69, Ashwin Balaji 45). Pts: AG’s Office 4(8); Athreya CA 0(4). Nelson SC 109/9 in 30 ovs (Ameer G 3/23) lost to IOC Mumbai 110/0 in 8.3 ovs (Yeshasvi Jaiswal 77 n.o, Ankush Bains 30 n.o). Pts: IOC 4 (12); Nelson SC 0 (0).

TN athletics squad announced

The Tamil Nadu Athletic Association have announced a 65-member squad to take part in the 58th national inter-state senior athletics meet to be held in Guwahati, Assam from June 26 to 29.
Squad Men: Sivakumar, Elakkiyadasan, Rishwanth, Manikanda Arumugam, Arokia Rajiv, Dharun, Mohan Kumar, Maruthai Thangam, Vellayattheven, Mujamil, Benyamin Daniel, Surendhar, Suresh, Sathish, Santhosh Kumar, Lakshmanan, Vishnu Swaminathan, Athistam, Bharathi, Aadarsh Ram, Vinith, Kamalraj, Raja Sekar, Mohammed Salahuddin, Siva Preeth, Saravanan, Mithra Varun, Shankar, Nirmal Raj, Suren and Krishna Kumar.

Women: Chadra Lekha, Archana, Dhana Lakshmi, Vijayakumari, Vithya, Priya, Gomathi, Geetha, Jothi, Nithya, Keerthana, Vishwapriya, Ramalakshmi, Dhivya, L. Surya, Harshini Saravanan, Coleshiya, Santhiya, Vinotha, Akila, Siva Anbarasi, Sureka, Sathya, Pavithra, Saraswathi, Vasumathy, Nithya, Priyadarshini, Hemamalini, Srinithi, Medha.

Chennaiyin FC signs Mizo boys     

ISL title holder Chennaiyin FC on Thursday signed the Mizoram trio of Isaac Vanmalsawma, Zohmingliana Ralte and Laldinliana Renthlei on two-year deals. The 21-year-old winger Isaac Vanmalsawma and 27-year-old defender Zohmingliana Ralte have been signed after the expiry of their contracts at FC Pune City and Bengaluru FC respectively. Meanwhile, the 19-year-old right-back Laldinliana has joined on a free transfer from Mizoram Premier League outfit Chhinga Veng FC, having completed a lone stint at Aizawl FC in the 2017-18 I-League.

More from Chennai.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp