MM Hussain is Mayor, Rajkumar deputy

After a gap of more than 21 years, an MIM member has become the mayor of GHMC, in a swap deal with Congress.

Published: 04th January 2012 12:24 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 06:08 PM   |  A+A-


MM Hussain, the new Mayor of GHMC|

HYDERABAD: Greater Hyderabad has its new mayor and deputy mayor. Mohammed Majid Hussain of Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) and Golkonda Raj Kumar of Indian National Congress (INC) have been unanimously elected as the second new mayor and deputy mayor of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC). Earlier MIM had its mayor during the period of 1986-1991.

Selection of the candidates by their respective parties surprised many including their own party corporators and leaders. Moreover, the winning candidates expressed their surprise over their selection to the top posts of the city where senior corporators from the two parties made all efforts to bag the top posts till last minute.  MIM ignored strong contenders and instead they picked up Majid Hussain and Raj Kumar hailing from weaker section for the top civic posts.

Hussain represents the Ahmednagar Division and Raj Kumar represents Kavadiguda Division.

Majid's candidature was proposed by MIM’s Doodhbowli corporator MA Ghaffar and seconded by former mayor Banda Karthika Reddy. In a span of 15 minutes, the election process was completed and 31-year-old Majid Hussain was declared the new mayor.

Later, Congress floor leader Kaleru Venkatesh proposed and MIM’s Mohammad Nazeeruddin seconded the candidature of Kavadiguda corporator Raj Kumar for the post of deputy mayor. He too was unanimously elected.

They succeeded B Kartika Reddy of the Congress  and Jaffer Hussain of the MIM respectively who resigned last month. The two alliance partners swapped the posts at the end of two years under the pact they reached after GHMC polls in November 2009. The mayor and deputy mayor for the last one year will be decided mutually by the two parties.

Of the 216-member council which comprises 150 corporators and 66 ex-officio members, including legislators and members of parliament, about 133 members attended the meeting.

But, TDP and BJP came to the meeting and did not sign the registers.  Most of the ex-officio members from Congress and  MIM skipped the meeting, even MIM Party president and MP, Asaduddin Owaisi and MIM floor leader in Assembly too did not attend the meeting. As part of power-sharing agreement, the MIM will contest for the mayor’s post while the Congress will field its candidate for the deputy mayor’s post.

Stay up to date on all the latest Hyderabad news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp