State government to send names of 11 DG rank officers to UPSC

Published: 02nd October 2013 09:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd October 2013 09:56 AM   |  A+A-

The State government is all set to send the names of 11 Director General rank police officers to the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), which will in turn shortlist three names, one of whom would be appointed Director General of Police of Andhra Pradesh.

The State government has appointed 1979 batch IPS officer B Prasada Rao as in-charge DGP on Monday and most likely, he would be regularised in the post, once the UPSC sends the short-listed names to the State government. The names that are being sent to the UPSC are — 1977 batch IPS officer Umesh Kumar, 1979 batch IPS officers — Ashok Prasad, presently serving as DGP of Jammu and Kashmir, TP Das, Home Secretary, Aruna Bahuguna, Special DG, CRPF, B Prasada Rao, SA Huda, NR Wasan (1980 batch).

Names of 1981 batch IPS officers too have been included and they are — K Durga Prasad, presently serving as Director of the Special Protection Group, New Delhi, AK Khan, VC & MD, APSRTC, Vivek Dube, Additional DG, CRPF, JV Ramudu, presently heading the elite anti-Naxalite force the Greyhounds.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp