Charge Sheet Filed in PGMET Scam Case

20 brokers and 26 students arrested and lodged in Vijayawada jail

Published: 01st June 2014 11:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st June 2014 11:14 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD: The CID police, who are probing the medical PG entrance test (PGMET-2014) question paper leak, have completed investigation and filed the final charge sheet in the court in Vijayawada.

Additional DGP (CID) T Krishna Prasad said here on Saturday that the investigation had been completed within the stipulated period and  charge sheet filed before the third additional chief metropolitan magistrate’s court in Vijayawada. Hearing is posted to June 9. All 46 accused are still in the district jail in Vijayawada.

The charge sheet ran into nearly 1,500 pages, consisting of 1,421 documents and nine registers. Incriminating evidence such as CCTV footage showing the theft of question paper from Manipal Printing Press, call data records, laptops, mobile  phones containing photograph of leaked question paper, two four-wheelers and Rs 19 lakh in cash were seized and submitted along with the charge sheet.

The PG Medical Entrance Test was conducted at 24 centres in nine towns  on March 2 and the results were announced on March 15. There was a lot of uproar by students who alleged large-scale malpractices in the conduct of the test and declaration of results.

The Joint Action Committee of Junior Doctors’ Association, Gandhi Hospital Wing, Secunderabad gave a representation to the governor   alleging malpractices in PGMET-2014. 

The CID has arrested 46 persons _ 20 brokers and 26 candidates _ for involvement in the scam and they are in jail. The involvement of the management of the printing press at Manipal in Karnataka where the question paper was printed and the higher authorities of Dr NTR University of Health Sciences which conducted the examination continues to be under probe. The arrested brokers are Dhanunjay Kumar Chouhan, PS Madhava Rao, SG Rajagopal Reddy, Gadde Rambabu, Mande Shakeel Ahmed, Shiva Prasad Ankegowda, Ameer Ahammed, Praveen Anuj Kumar Singh, Suresh, Dr Avinash Patrick, Paulson, Abhimanyu, Chakravarthi, Ch Bhushan Reddy, Vijay, Kistappa, Muneeshwar Reddy and D Sainath.

The arrested students are Akula Srikanth, Beerelli Sreenivas,  P Bharath Kumar, Ch Gurivi Reddy, N.Jagadeep, Ch Rama Rao, Ch Sai Praneeth, AV Anand, Sonia Argoya Prakash, Ch. Bheemeshwar Rao, K Ramana, D Sravani, VN Goutham Varma Kovvur, Dr G Krishna Karthik, Talasila Pritham, Dr Chandu Mohan, B.Venkateshwar Rao, Dr Kaja Neela Harika, Dr Radha Reddy Shyamala, Dr Keerthi Chowdary, Dr Lanka Prathyusha, Dr Paneeshri Alaparthi, Vinila P, Dr Bharath Chandra (Inimarla), Dr Shaik Hussain Basha, Dr Phanindra.

charge sheet

■ The charge sheet ran into nearly 1,500 pages, consisting of 1,421 documents and nine registers

■ Hearing is posted to June 9


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp