Nayani, Naik Take Oath as MLCs

The home minister and the TRS Politburo member were nominated under guv’s quota

Published: 23rd June 2014 07:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd June 2014 07:41 AM   |  A+A-


HYDERABAD: Home Minister Nayani Narasimha Reddy and TRS Politburo member Ramulu Naik took oath as the members of Telangana Legislative Council here on Sunday.

Both Nayani and Naik were appointed as MLCs under the Governor’s quota. They were administered oath of office and secrecy by Council chairman Nethi Vidyasagar Rao in his chambers.

Speaking to mediapersons after taking oath, Nayani thanked chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao for inducting him into the Cabinet. He said maintenance of law and order in Telangana would be top priority and any kind of negligence by the police would not be tolerated. He said steps were being taken to ensure peaceful celebration of Ramzan and Bonalu festivals.

Ramulu Naik also thanked chief minister KCR and IT minister K Tarakarama Rao for nominating him for the post of MLC. He urged political parties and people to  cooperate with the TRS government to ensure overall development of Telangana State.

Nayani Narasimha Reddy had not contested the 2014 Assembly or Lok Sabha elections as he was assured MLC post after the polls. After winning the elections, KCR inducted him into the Cabinet and gave him the plum post of home minister. As per rules, a minister should become an MLA or MLC within six months of induction into the Cabinet if he/she is not elected or nominated.

Ramulu Naik, who failed to secure party ticket in the recently held polls, was promised MLC post by KCR and was nominated under the Governor’s quota.

After the bifurcation, the Telangana state got 40 MLCs--14 elected through local bodies, 14 by MLAs, six under Governor’s quota, and three each from graduate and teacher constituencies.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp