Kochi Corporation Councillors Take Oath

The 74 newly-elected members of the Kochi Corporation council were sworn in as councillors on Thursday. 

Published: 13th November 2015 04:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th November 2015 04:13 AM   |  A+A-


KOCHI: The 74 newly-elected members of the Kochi Corporation council were sworn in as councillors on Thursday. 

In an hour-long oath-taking ceremony, District Collector M G Rajamanickam, who is also the returning officer and Mayor in-charge, administered the oath of office to Muhammed Hamakunju, the eldest member of the new governing committee.

Hamsakunju, later, administered the oath to other 73 councilors. Shiny Mathew, who won from Fort Kochi, first took the oath from Hamsakunju. Most of the councilors took their oath in the name of God.    Out of the 74 councilors, 41 are newbies. Saneesha Ajeeb who won from the Chakkamadom division is the youngest member in the council.  

Though the ceremony started in a serious note, it also opened the door to some wit and humour when Hamsakunju asked the sitting Councilor T K Ashraf about his new white cap.

Humour came to the fore again when the comrades of Thampi Subramaniyam raised slogans to support him a few seconds before he went to take oath, but Hamsakunju humourously asked  “what is the need of slogans even after the polls?”

Though the ceremony was sheduled to be held at 11.30 am, the relatives and friends of the councilors thronged the council hall. As many as 500 people witnessed the oath-taking ceremony. The temporary screen erected in front of the Corporation was a boon to the family members who failed to enter the council  hall.

The first council was dispersed around 1 pm after a meeting for nearly 15 minutes under  Hamsakunju. The election of mayor and deputy mayor of the Corporation Council will be held on November 18.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp