Education department to launch ‘Snehasparsham’

The programme is aimed at imparting enhancement in the educational standards and values of the students.

Published: 19th February 2012 03:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 05:58 PM   |  A+A-


(Express File Photo)

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Education Department will launch the ‘Snehasparsham’  programme, aimed at imparting enhancement in the educational standards and values of the students.

As per the programme, the Education Minister will send letters on various topics to the PTA presidents of the schools every month. In the reply, the PTA presidents can refer their personal as well as social issues to the Minister.

There will be a special desk to handle these letters at the Minister’s office. The letters should be handwritten in Malayalam. The Minister’s letter will be send to all the PTA presidents by downloading it from the site The Head Masters of the schools would be assigned to do this and collect the acknowledgement. Education Minister Abdu Rabb said that the letters to the 14,000 PTA presidents would be send this week itself. The Minister’s letter should be read in the PTA and school assembly meetings.

The first letter from the Minister is about preparing the 10th standard students for the SSLC examination. He also handed over the logo of ‘Snehasparsham’ to the media persons.

Media awards announced

The Minister also announced the media awards for the best coverage of the state School Youth Festival, held in Thrissur from January 16 to 22.   Deshabhimani daily has been selected for the award for the comprehensive coverage of the festival. The best photography award went to Malayala Manorama for its photo published on January 16. Chandrika daily received the special mention.

P R Ragesh of Madhyamam received the award for best cartoon.

While, M K Sreejith of Mathrubhumi bagged the best reporter award, Baiju Govind of Metrovartha received the special mention.

In the electronic media category, the Reporter TV and Manorama News bagged the award for the best coverage. TCV got the special mention.  Ragesh of Indiavision has been selected as the best reporter and S Lallu of Asianet got special mention. Sasikanth of Amritha TV bagged the best cameraman award. Saju Kanjiramkulam of Jaihind TV got special mention.  All India Radio has bagged the best reporting award in the audio media category. A jury, comprising K R Meera and T N Prakash, selected the awardees.

All the award winning organisations will be given a cash prize of  Rs 6,000 each and memento. Individual winners will be given a cash prize of  Rs 4,000 and memento.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp