Science Literature Awards announced

Published: 06th September 2012 11:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th September 2012 11:14 AM   |  A+A-

Prof Kesavan Vellikkulangara, former Chief Conservator of Forests C K Karunakaran and Dr Manoj Komath were on Wednesday declared winners of the Science Literature Awards for the year 2010, by the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE).

 Kesavan Vellikkulangara won the award for Best Science Book (Children’s Literature) for his work ‘Katha parayum kaalam’, while the Science Literature Award for Best Book (Popular Science) went to C K Karunakaran for his book ‘Visva mahaavrikshangal.’

 Karunakaran’s book describes the importance of trees, starting from the evolution. The book deals in a lucid manner special features of various trees.

Karunakaran has to his credit 15 books on forest life. A life member of the Indian Science Congress, he has published several articles in leading dailies and science magazines. He was the editor of the ‘Aranyam’ magazine of Forest Department and Friends of Trees.

 Prof Kesavan’s book, ‘Katha parayum kaalam’, which inspires children to read and learn science, is a unique narration of science facts by a father to his son. The author, who hails from Thrissur, is a retired professor and is presently the secretary of the Achutha Menon Society (Asha) and the vice-president of the Kerala Sasthra Sahithya Parishad.

 Manoj Komath won the award for the Best Science Book in the category of In-depth Science for his book ‘Prapancha chithrangal’, while M K Krishna Kumar and Seema Sreelayam shared the Science Journalism Award.

The International Year of Astronomy inspired Manoj Komath to write the award-winning book, the focal theme of which is the history and development of astronomy. It describes the valuable contributions of Aryabhatta and Brahmagupta towards the development of astronomy.

 Manoj Komath, who did his research at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, is presently working as a scientist in the Biomedical Technology Department at Sri Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology here. He has published three books, titled ‘Vedapaarambaryathinte kapada mukhangal’, ‘Vilapeshappedunna aarogyam’ and ‘Einsteinum aapekshikathayum.’

 Krishna Kumar, news editor of ‘Mathrubhumi’ newspaper, Malappuram unit, and Seema Sreelayam, a chemistry teacher at KKMG VHSS, Orkatteri, Vadakara, who jointly won the Science Journalism Award, published a number of articles in various newspapers and magazines on a variety of subjects in 2010.

 The prestigious awards, set up by the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE), are conferred on individuals who have made creditable contributions in promoting science in Malayalam. Each award carries ` 25,000, along with a plaque and a certificate.

The awards will be presented by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy at a function, the date of which will be decided later.

Stay up to date on all the latest Thiruvananthapuram news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp