Nominations invited for Young Scientist Awards

Published: 28th September 2012 09:22 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th September 2012 09:22 AM   |  A+A-

Nominations have been invited by the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) for the Young Scientist Awards for the year 2013.

The award recognises outstanding contributions by young scientists of Indian origin in various colleges, universities and institutes of Science and Technology which come under the purview of the KSCSTE.

The KSCSTE has instituted 14 awards in various categories, each consisting of a medal, a certificate with a citation, and a cash prize of Rs 50,000. Doctorate holders born on or after January 1, 1976, who have been carrying out independent research in Kerala for at least the last three years, will be eligible for the honour.

Nominations for the award can be made by Vice-Chancellors of universities in Kerala, Directors of research institutes/ R and D centres of industries, heads of university departments, principals of colleges with approved centres of research, and Fellows of the Indian National Science Academy, Indian Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Sciences, India, Indian National Academy of Engineering and Indian Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

Subject Committees set up by the Council will screen the nominations and make their recommendations to the executive committee, which will select the most deserving candidates from the shortlist.

The awards will be announced by the first week of January 2013 and will be presented by Oommen Chandy at the inaugural session of the 25th Kerala Science Congress, which is scheduled to be held from January 29 to February 1, 2013 at the Technopark, here.

The award-winning works will be presented at the Plenary Session of the Kerala Science Congress.

The awardees will also be considered for the Council’s full support for going overseas to present their research work at conferences, and for participating in collaborative/ training research projects.

More details about the award, and the prescribed format for the nomination are available online on the Kerala Science Congress website (

The nominations, along with the supporting documents, must reach K Vijayakumar, Scientific Officer, KSCSTE, Sasthra Bhavan, Pattom P O, Thiruvananthapuram- 695004, on or before October 15, 2012.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp