Thiruvananthapuram Yet to 'Basket' Sports Hostel for Women

District women sail to third consecutive title at State Senior Basketball

Published: 17th December 2015 02:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th December 2015 02:48 AM   |  A+A-


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:Thiruvananathapuram once again reigned supreme in women’s basketball in Kerala as they plain-sailed to their third consecutive title at the 60th Kerala State Senior Basketball Championship defeating Palakkad 57-44 in the final held at the Government VHSS, Kanhangad. However, the district’s demand for a dedicated sports hostel for women hoopsters is still a distant reality.

basket.jpgThe Thiruvananthapuram eves have won the state championship 12 times in its 60-year history, of which 11 titles have come since the 2000-01 season, where they won the title at the FACT Basketball Courts in Aluva. Since 2009-10, they have won all the state championships, with the exception of 2012-13 edition at Manjeri, where they had to settle for the runners-up title.

 Seven out of 12 members of the Thiruvananthapuram squad were players of the Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), including three Indian internationals - Jeena P S, Stephy Nixon and Anjanna P G - who, according to victorious team’s coach,

Antony Stephen, “proved to be the difference between the champion team and oppositions in the tournament”

district women’s basketball team

Jeena P S, Anjanna PG, Stephy Nixon, Rosmy Mahesh, Shilji George, Premi P Lal, Amritha EK (all from Kerala State Electricity Board), Anjanya Anil, Bismi Harish (Government College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram), Kavya P Hari, Bitty K Baby (Carmel Girls’ HSS, Thycaud), Mahima Shibu (St Goretti’s HSS, Nalannchira)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp