TRS Releases First List of 69 Candidates for Assembly Polls

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Friday released its first list of candidates for assembly election in Telangana.

Published: 04th April 2014 11:47 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th April 2014 11:47 AM   |  A+A-


TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao (Express file photo)


The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Friday released its first list of candidates for assembly election in Telangana.

TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao is among 69 candidates announced by him at a news conference. KCR, as Rao is popularly known, will contest from Gajwel in Medak district.

This is the first time that KCR will be contesting for assembly since he floated TRS 14 years ago to revive the movement for separate Telangana state. He was elected to Lok Sabha in 2004 and 2009 elections.

KCR's son K. Tarakarama Rao will seek re-election from Sircilla while his nephew Harish Rao has been fielded again from Siddipet.

The TRS has retained all 17 sitting legislators and also gave tickets to those who crossed over from the Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and other parties.

KCR claimed that 55 percent of the candidates are from weaker sections of the candidate. 

"We have given priority to those who participated in the Telangana movement. We have tried to accommodate lawyers, doctors and student leaders who participated in the movement. Some more names are under consideration," he said.

Shakeel Ahmed is the only Muslim candidate in the TRS list. He will contest from Bodhan in Nizamabad district.

KCR said the candidates for remaining 50 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats would be announced soon.

He also reiterated that TRS would go alone in the polls and that there is no question of alliance with any party.

Simultaneous elections to 119 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled on April 30.

Telangana will come into being as a separate state June 2.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp