Congress' Lists for Telangana LS, Assembly Polls

Published: 07th April 2014 11:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 07th April 2014 11:01 PM   |  A+A-


Senior leaders Damodar Raja Narsimha, Ponnala Lakshmaiah and Kunduru Jana Reddy figure in the list of 111 Congress candidates for assembly elections in Telangana released by the party tonight, ending two days of suspense.

The other former ministers include Uttam Kumar Reddy, Sudarshan Reddy, Sridhar Babu and D K Aruna.

The party has fielded two actors Vijayashanti and Jaya Sudha from Medak and Secundrabad constituencies.

While Vijayashanti was elected from Medak Lok Sabha constituency on a TRS ticket last time and subsequently joined Congress, Jaya Sudha has been re-nominated from Secundrabad.

Rajya Sabha MP V Hanumanth Rao also finds a place in the list and he would be fighting for Amberpet assembly seat.

The national party is expected to tie-up with CPI in the region amidst indications that it has left eight seats for the Left party.

Moreover, Congress had declared contestants for the 16 Lok Sabha seats, keeping one reserved for its possible alliance partner.

Apparently faced with intense pulls and pressures, the party had failed to declare its nominees for the assembly elections in Telangana yesterday, nearly 24 hours after it called a press conference to release the list of 110 candidates.

At 22.15 hours on Saturday night, party leader Randeep Singh Surjewala had called a press conference in Delhi to announce the list.

He told the media that the party high command has cleared a list of 16 candidates for Lok Sabha and 110 candidates for assembly seats and proceeded to announce the names.

Surjewala announced the names of 16 candidates for Lok Sabha and even as he started reading out the assembly candidates, he stopped apparently after some urgent last- minute message and the briefing was over.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp