Protests Rock BJP, TDP Over Electoral Alliance

Unruly scenes witnessed at BJP office, while Telugu Desam activists stage dharna in front of party chief Chandrababu Naidu’s residence.

Published: 08th April 2014 08:23 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th April 2014 10:50 AM   |  A+A-


Protests continued on Monday over the TDP-BJP poll alliance, even as TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu released his party’s first list of 27 Assembly and three Lok Sabha candidates.

The BJP state headquarters witness some ugly scenes with party workers from Suryapet, LB Nagar, Maheswaram, Karimnagar and Secunderabad Assembly segments and Zaheerabad Lok Sabha constituency creating ruckus in protest against party ‘surrendering’ their constituencies to the TDP.

Several leaders, along with their supports from  these constituencies, barged into the BJP office and resorted to hooliganism. They got engaged in scuffles with other party workers who tried to appease them.

The party workers came to register their protest, and when they did not find party state leaders, including Telangana unit chief G Kishan Reddy, in the office, created a ruckus and tried to destroy furniture.

A party worker from Suryapet, Bhagwat Rajesh, tried to ‘self-immolate’ by pouring kerosene on self. However, others prevented him from setting himself on fire.

Another party worker from Suryapet climbed the party office building and threatened to jump from there. Alert police overpowered and brought him down.

Earlier, party workers from Zaheerabad Lok Sabha constituency reportedly barged into the conference hall and displaced chairs there.

Leaders closed the gate of the party office and tried to stop the protesters. This further irked them and they entered the office forcefully. Many were seen sitting on dharma outside the front gate and in the hall.

Senior party leader Ch Vidyasagar Rao was gheraoed by the agitators and was prevented from entering the party office. However, police took him safely inside.

BJP Ranga Reddy urban and rural unit presidents M Chandraiah and T Anjan Kumar respectively resigned from their posts in protest against the alliance. It is learnt that a few more district presidents are expected to quit in next two days.

Meanwhile, Kishan Reddy was busy bargaining with TDP for a few Assembly seats. According to sources, Kishan Reddy is seeking Suryapet, Narayanpet and Peddapalli Assembly seats, among others.

Naidu Effigies Burnt:

At TDP office, even as Naidu was addressing the media after releasing candidates’ list, some of his party leaders and workers from Khairatabad and Uppal Assembly segments staged a dharna in front of his residence in protest against allotting those seats to the BJP. Some of them even burnt the effigies of Naidu. A TDP supporter from Uppal attempted to immolate self using kerosene, but his colleagues acted swiftly and thwarted the bid.

The party has renominated eight MLAs, and Ramesh Rathod, its MP representing Adilabad LS seat. The TDP chief has chosen party senior Errabelli Dayakar Rao’s son-in-law K Madan Mohan Rao, an NRI, as the party candidate from Zahirabad LS seat. Banoth Mohan Lal will contest Mahabubabad LS seat.

Naidu said, “It is true that injustice has been done to the TDP during seat-adjustment. But, sometimes in the interest of the state and the nation certain sacrifices are necessary.”

The seat adjustment between TDP and BJP was done in a ‘win-win manner’, he said.

TDP leadership’s decision to join hands with the BJP has angered Muslim minority leaders in the party.

Party politburo member Zahid Ali Khan resigned on Monday.

TDP Minority Cell members are also learnt to be planning to resign. The cell members, along with weaker section leaders, are holding a meeting on Tuesday to discuss the issue.

Fiery dissent

■ A BJP activist tried to immolate self, while another threatened to jump off party office building

■ A Telugu Desam  worker attempted to set himself ablaze but prevented by others


Also Read:


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp