71.86 Per Cent Turnout in Haryana

Published: 12th April 2014 11:26 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th April 2014 11:26 PM   |  A+A-


Haryana recorded 71.86 per cent turnout in the Lok Sabha elections held for the ten seats from the state on Thursday.

According to the latest figures available now, the total voting percentage is 71.86 for the 10 Lok Sabha seats as against 67.94 per cent in 2009, the state election department said today.

As per preliminary estimates available on Thursday, the poll body had said that close to 73 per cent of the over 1.6 crore eligible voters including nearly 74 lakh women had exercised their franchise.

"While the overall voting percentage is 71.86, the total percentage of women voters is 70 as against 66.17 per cent in 2009," Haryana Chief Electoral Officer, Shrikant Walgad said.

Sirsa constituency registered the highest polling of 77.11 per cent, followed by Hisar and Kurukshetra with 76.52 per cent and 76.05 per cent, respectively, he said.

During the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, the highest polling of 75.29 per cent was registered by Kurukshetra constituency followed by Sirsa with 75.01 per cent and Bhiwani-Mahendergarh with 72.53 per cent, he said.

"This time, Ambala constituency registered 72.34 per cent, Gurgaon 72.14 per cent, Karnal 71.07 per cent, Bhiwani-Mahendergarh 71.03 per cent, Sonipat 69.87 per cent, Rohtak 67.71 per cent and Faridabad 65.18 per cent polling," he said.

Among the assembly segments, Kalanwali recorded the highest polling with 80.88 per cent followed by Ellenabad and Rania with 80.76 per cent and 80.51 per cent, respectively.

The highest voter turnout in the Lok Sabha elections from Haryana was in 1977 with 73.26 per cent. During 2009 polls, it was 67.94 per cent and in 2004 it was 65.72 per cent.

Walgad said this time women in Sirsa recorded the highest polling with 75.75 per cent whereas Hisar and Kurukshetra were at second and third place with 75.14 per cent and 75.04 per cent, respectively.

From Sirsa Lok Sabha seat, Haryana Congress President Ashok Tanwar is seeking re-election.

The poll was a four-cornered contest among candidates of Congress, BJP-HJC combine, main opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and new entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana.

In Haryana, the key candidates among a total of 230 whose fate has been sealed in the EVMs include industrialist Naveen Jindal, Deepender Hooda, Avtar Singh Bhadana, Shruti Chaudhry (Congress), former Union Minister Rao Inderjit Singh (BJP) and Yogendra Yadav of AAP.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp