Amrita Film Awards tomorrow

Published: 19th April 2013 12:33 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th April 2013 12:53 PM   |  A+A-


E Sreedharan, Kapil Dev, V V S Laxman and Abhilash Tomy will receive the Amrita Awards for Outstanding Contribution instituted by Amrita TV  to recognize exemplary achievers in different areas. The Awards will be given away by  Chandresh Kumari Katoch, Union Minister for Culture at a gala event. The award consists of a memento, citation and a purse of Rs  5  lakhs.  The earlier recipients of Amrita Award for Outstanding Contribution were Anna Hazare, M T Vasudevan Nair, Asha Bhosle, Milkha Singh and Vidya Balan.

The awards will be bestowed at the Amrita Film Awards event to be held on April 20 at K K Premachandran Sports Complex, Willingdon Island, Kochi. At the award function leading film personalities and technicians will receive Awards in over 25 categories. The recipients of the Amrita film awards are: Ayalum Njanum Thammil (best film), Lal Jose (best director), Mohanlal (best actor), Kavya Madhavan (best actress), Biju Menon (best actor in a supporting role), Lena (best actress in a supporting role), Shahabaz Aman (best music director), Rafeeq Ahammed (best lyricist), Vijay Yesudas (best singer male), Remya Nambeesan (best singer female), Bobby and Sanjay (best script), Vinod Illampally (best cinematographer), Arun Kumar Aravind (best editor), Prathap Pothan (best villain), Sreekumaran Thampi (lifetime achievement award), Dhananjay (best child artist), Fahad Fazil (youth icon), Nivin Pauly-Isha Talwar (best pair), Kunchacko Boban (popular actor), Dulquar Salman (new face of the year male), Namitha Pramod (new face of the year female), Baburaj (best comedian), Vineeth Sreenivasan (special jury award), Jayaram (family entertainer). 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp