Debutant directors sweep Kerala state awards

Almost all the major awards this year were won by films which were directed by first-timers.

Published: 23rd May 2011 03:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 10:04 PM   |  A+A-


The poster of ' TD Dasan Std VI B'.

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: First-time filmmakers made a huge impression on the State Film Award jury. “Debut films were brilliant. I was overwhelmed by the quality of these films. The great legacy of Malayalam films will continue,” said jury chairman and internationally renowned filmmaker Buddhadeb Dasgupta while announcing the State Film Awards here on Sunday.

The jury in its press note has also noted that most of the major awards have gone to debut filmmakers. ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’, made by debutant Salim Ahmed, won the cream of the awards including the best film, best actor, best screenplay and the best film score.

Vipin Vijay’s ‘Chithrasoothram’, which bagged three awards including the special jury award, was the other film that enthused the jury. “The filmmaker defied traditions of filmmaking. He has created a new language for cinema. I am very proud of him. He was my student,” Buddhadeb Dasgupt a paused, and added with a smile: “That has got nothing to do with the award.”

‘TD Dasan Std VI B’ won Mohan Raghavan the award for the best debutant filmmaker. Buddhadeb urged Cultural Affairs Minister K B Ganesh Kumar, who announced the awards, to offer greater support to debut filmmakers.

“If the government could assist in the release of their films, it will be of great help,” Buddhadeb said. Ganesh promised all help.

“The T Balakrishnan Committee has recommended an increase in subsidy for films. I will be holding discussions with all stakeholders and an appropriate decision will be taken at an appropriate time,” the Minister said. Buddhadeb said the absence of subsidy in West Bengal was causing major problems for filmmakers there.


The controversial experimental film ‘Chithrasoothram’ won three awards: The Special Jury Award for its director Vipin Vijay, the award for best cinematography for Shahnad Jalal, and the best sound recordist award for Shubhadeep Sengupta and Ajith M George.

Shahnad shared the award with M J Radhakrishnan who cranked the camera for Dr Biju’s ‘Veetilekkulla Vazhi’, the film which also won the best Malayalam language film at this year’s national awards.


•    Best second feature film – ‘Makaramanju’ (Lenin Rajendran).

•    Most popular film with aesthetic appeal – ‘Pranchiyettan and the Saint’ (Ranjith).

•    Best second actress - Mamta Mohandas (‘Katha Thudarunnu’)

•    Best comedian - Suraj Venjarammood (‘Oru Naal Varum’)

•    Best child artiste– Krishna Padmakumar (‘Janaki’)

•    Best story - Mohan Sharma (‘Gramam’)

•    Best lyricist - Rafiq Ahmed (‘Sadgamaya’)

•    Best music director - M Jayachandran (‘Karayilekkoru Kadal Dooram’)

•    Best playback singer (male) – Hariharan (‘Paattinte Palazhi’)

•    Best playback singer (female) - Rajalakshmi (‘Janakan’)

•    Best classical singer – Balamuralikrishna (‘Gramam’)

•    Best editor - Sobhin K Soman (‘Pakarnnattam’)

•    Best art director - K Krishnan Kutty (‘Yugapurushan’)

•    Best processing laboratory - Prasad Colour Lab (‘Veetilekkulla Vazhi’)

•    Best make-up man – Pattanam Rasheed (‘Yugapurushan’)

•    Best costume design - S B Satheesan (‘Yugapurushan’ and ‘Makaramanju’)

•    Best dubbing artiste– Riza Bava (‘Karmayogi’) and Praveena (‘Elektra’)

•    Best choreographer - Madhu Gopinath and Sajeev Vakkom (‘Makaramanju’)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp