Parliament paralysed for eighth day on coal block issue

Published: 31st August 2012 11:35 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st August 2012 01:48 PM   |  A+A-


The eighth consecutive day of Parliament was lost today to the uproar created by BJP over coal block allocations, raising the prospect of washout of the remaining part of Monsoon Session which ends on September 7.

Uproarious scenes were witnessed in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha like in the last seven days with the CAG report on the coal block allocation issue creating turmoil with BJP paralysing the proceedings by pressing for resignation of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

In the Rajya Sabha, BJP members refused to take part in the House proceedings shouting slogans and vehemently refusing to read out their Special Mentions. However, N K Singh, a member of NDA ally JD-U, laid it seeking urgent measures to address the problem of declining growth rate of export.

As soon as the two Houses reassembled after the first adjournment till noon, opposition members were on their feet shouting slogans like "Koyla Dalalon Ki Sarkar Nahin Chalegi (we will not allow government run by coal brokers)". They were countered by Congress members.

In the Rajya Sabha, Renuka Chowdhary led the Congress charge and shouted back at the BJP saying "sit down or go out" while her other colleagues chanted "BJP ki gundagardi nahin chalegi (BJP's hooliganism won't be allowed).

A short notice question, which was listed, could not be taken up as the BJP member who was supposed to ask it declined to do so and no supplementary was asked by any other member.

Soon BJP members trooped into the Well in both Houses while those from AIADMK as well as the CPI-M were standing.

As the slogan shouting continued, both Houses were adjourned for the day.

In the Rajya Sabha, K N Balagopal and P Rajeeve (both CPI-M) demanded cancellation of the coal blocks.

When the Lok Sabha met for the day, BJP members trooped into the Well raising slogans against the Prime Minister for allegedly extending "undue benefits" to private parties to the tune of Rs 1.86 lakh crore while allocating coal blocks.

UPA members launched a counter-offensive raising slogans in favour of Singh and waved the 'List of Business' at the agitating BJP-led opposition members.

P Lingam (CPI) was seen holding a placard 'We want Parliament to Function'.

As members continued their protests, Speaker Meira Kumar adjourned the House till noon.

In the Rajya Sabha, the moment Chairman Hamid Ansari took up the Question Hour, BJP members rushed to the Well demanding the Prime Minister's resignation.

Minister of State for Railways Bharatsinh Solanki's reply to a supplementary raised by Saif-ud-din Doz (Cong) could not be heard in din.

As BJP members did not relent, Ansari adjourned the House till noon.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp