Eight new Ministers to be sworn in

Published: 17th June 2013 01:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th June 2013 01:39 PM   |  A+A-


Eight new faces will be inducted in the Council of Ministers today, with Sisram Ola and Oscar Fernandes making a re-entry after a gap of four years.

Ola, along with Girija Vyas and K S Rao, are to be inducted as Cabinet Ministers, sources said.

The Ministers of State to be inducted are Manikrao Gavit, Santosh Chowdhury, J D Seelam, E M S Natchiappan.

Ola and Fernandes were ministers in the UPA-I but did not find a place in the UPA-II government.

With the new inductions, the strength of the Council of Ministers will go up to 77.

The expansion-cum-reshuffle of the Council of Ministers has been necessitated by the exit of Ministers from DMK as well as resignation of Pawan Kumar Bansal, Ashwani Kumar, Ajay Maken and C P Joshi.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp