Congress storms back to power in Karnataka, drubbing BJP

Published: 09th May 2013 09:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2013 09:42 AM   |  A+A-

Ending nine years of political uncertainty, Karnataka’s voters delivered an unambiguous victory for the Congress by voting for stability and against the first ever BJP gover­nment marred by corruption charges, scandal and anarchy.

The Congress sailed through effortlessly, romping home with 121 seats while the BJP and the JD (S) stood a joint second with 40 seats each in the 223 seats that went to polls on Sunday. Election at the Periyapattana constituency was countermanded following the death of a BJP candidate.

Despite all the rumblings on ticket distribution and allegati­ons of sale of tickets, its batte­red image at the Centre with alleged involvement of its ministers in several scams, Congress managed to register a big victory by decimating the BJP in its strongholds in north Karnataka and the coastal belt.

As many as 19 ministers including Deputy Chief Minister K S Eshwarappa, apart from deputy Speaker Yogesh Bhat and government chief whip Siddu Savadi lost the polls. Other shock defeats were of KPCC president and chief ministerial aspirant G Parmeshwa­ra and Anitha Kumaraswamy.

The saffron party’s rout was quite evident as it failed to open account in six major districts including its strongholds in Shimoga and Davanagere, besides Mysore, Bangalore rural, and Chamarajangar. Victory continued to be elusive for BJP in Mandya and Hassan districts. 

Former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa’s tall claims of making an impact on the state polity failed miserably; his party KJP managed to win just six seats.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp