65.46 Percent Votes Cast in Peaceful 2nd Phase Polling in Jharkhand

Published: 02nd December 2014 09:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 02nd December 2014 11:15 PM   |  A+A-


A security person stands guard as people wait to cast votes at a polling station during second phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections in Khunti on Tuesday | PTI


RANCHI: About 65.46 per cent electorate today exercised their franchise in the second of the five-phase polling for the 20 Maoist-hit Assembly constituencies as the day passed off peacefully.

Chief Electoral Officer P K Jajoria said, 65.46 per cent votes were cast in the 2nd phase polling.         

In the first phase polling for 13 seats on November 25, 61.92 per cent voters exercised their franchise.            

Stating that the gradual increase in the turnout would strengthen democracy, Jajoria said the polling concluded peacefully in all the constituencies.            

The fate of 223 candidates, including former chief ministers Arjun Munda and Madhu Koda, three incumbent ministers and 18 sitting MLAs, was sealed in the EVMs.            

Prominent among the candidates include Dulal Bhuyan (Congress) from Jugsalai, Jaba Manjhi (JMM) from Manoharpur, Neil Tirkey (JMM) from Simdega and Bandhu Tirkey (Trinamool Congress) and Bimla Pradhan (BJP), both from Simdega.       

The CEO said all the constituencies were alerted following the Maoist attack on the CRPF personnel in the neighbouring Chhattisgarh yesterday.        

"Some of the polling personnel have been brought back by helicopter while others will return tomorrow morning," Jajoria said.       

The 20 Maoist constituencies where polling was held today are spread over seven districts -- Seraikela-Kharsawan, West and East Singhbhum, Khunti, Simdega, Ranchi and Gumla.  

Polling was held from 7 AM to 3 PM in 18 seats while the exercise was carried on till 5 AM in Jamshedpur (East) and Jamshedpur (West).    

Re-polling at a booth in Garhwa and two in Chhatarpur seat also ended incident-free.  

With 76 per cent polling, Jagannathpur witnessed maximum turnout, Jajoria said.          

Polling for third phase of elections in 17 seats will be held on December 9 and the two remaining phases would be held on December 14 and 20.          

Jharkhand Assembly is a 81-member house.

Meanwhile, Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha said in Delhi that a total of Rs 1,12,83,479 has been seized in the state, 1.27 lakh litres of liquor and 16 cases of paid news have been registered by EC-appointed surveillance teams.     

"The polls today passed out peacefully and no incident was reported in Jharkhand," Sinha said.        

The corresponding figures for the districts that went to polls today was reported at East Singhbhum (63.19 per cent), West Singhbhum (69.89 per cent), Saraikela (67.36 per cent), Ranchi (64.99 per cent), Khunti (59.79 per cent), Gumla (63.24 per cent) and Simdega (65.96 per cent).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp