2 from Congress, 1 Each from BJP, JDS Elected Unopposed to RS

Published: 12th June 2014 06:08 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th June 2014 06:08 PM   |  A+A-


BANGALORE: AICC General Secretary B K Hariprasad and party spokesman Rajiv Gowda were today declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka.

BJP's Prabhakar Kore and JDS' Kupendra Reddy also made it to the Upper House of Parliament as only four candidates were left in the fray for an equal number of seats.

The results were announced by Karnataka Assembly Secretary P Omprakasha, who is also the returning officer, after the deadline ended for withdrawal today.

Ignoring the claim of former External Affairs Minister S M Krishna for renomination, Congress had plumped for Gowda, a professor at the Indian Institute of Management here.

Krishna, a former chief minister who is set to retire from Rajya Sabha on June 25, lost out mainly on account of his age (83 years) to 50-year-old Gowda, party sources said.

Gowda was an aspirant for Bangalore North Sabha seat in the recent polls, but failed to get the ticket.

Given its strength in the 225-member Assembly, the ruling Congress in the state can easily win two seats and BJP and JDS one each. Playing it safe, Congress dropped the idea of fielding a third candidate.

Follow The New Indian Express channel on WhatsApp


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp