BJP All Set for Grand Ceremony

With the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi merely four days away, the BJP is busy coordinating for the grand ceremony.

Published: 23rd May 2014 09:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd May 2014 09:08 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: With the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi merely four days away, the BJP is busy coordinating for the grand ceremony.

BJP president Rajnath Singh on Thursday held a meeting with the party’s general secretaries to oversee the preparation for the May 26 ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan for which 3,000 invites have been sent. Though, President House is the official host, the BJP is coordinating for the guest list and making the function spectacular.

Talking to reporters, party general secretary Ananth Kumar said:  “We, today, discussed in details about arrangements for the oath-taking ceremony of Modi and his Council of Ministers. There is a lot of enthusiasm across the country about the event.”

The list of Cabinet ministers, likely to take oath, was still kept under wraps. Sources said it would only be known at the time when the BJP MPs start getting the invites to attend the ceremony on Monday. Most of the BJP MPs, who were either touring or holidaying, have started returning to the capital, in case the call inviting them to take oath arrives.

“It’s Modi’s prerogative to decide his team. He would choose from the exiting pool of MPs, and may even get some technocrats to finish the agenda charted out in the manifesto,” a senior BJP leader said.

From Delhi, it could be from Harshvardhan, Vijay Goel and Meenakshi Lekhi; Gopinanth Munde, Nitin Gadkari, Hansraj Ahir, Kirit Somaiya; Shanta Kumar and Anurag Thakur; Faggan Singh Kulaste, Narender Tomar, Sushma Swaraj; Rajnath Singh, Kalraj Mishra, MM Joshi, Varun Gandhi, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, a party insider said referring to the pool of leader available from each state.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp