GJM MLAs to Sit in Opposition Bench in WB Assembly

Published: 25th May 2014 11:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2014 11:20 PM   |  A+A-


The three MLAs of Gorkha Janamukti Morcha, which is demanding separate Gorkhaland state in Darjeeling hills, have decided to sit in the Opposition bench in West Bengal Assembly, party sources said today.

GJM MLAs -- Harka Bahadur Chettri, Rohit Sharma and Trilok Dewan, who represent Kalimpong, Kurseong and Darjeeling Assembly seats respectively -- have decided to sit in the Opposition instead of the treasury bench, sources said here.

GJM supported BJP candidate S S Ahluwalia in the recently- held Lok Sabha polls from Darjeeling constituency. Ahluwalia won the election after defeating Trinamool Congress candidate footballer Bhaichung Bhutia.

Three GJM MLAs supported Trinamool Congress-led West Bengal government after 2011 Assembly polls.

Chettri, who is also GJM spokesperson, will soon seek permission from the Speaker of the Assembly to sit on the Opposition bench, GJM leaders said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp