Seven Women in Modi's Council of Ministers

Published: 26th May 2014 09:40 PM  |   Last Updated: 26th May 2014 09:40 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Seven women Monday took oath as ministers in the Narendra Modi government, and one of them is set to be a member of the all powerful Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS).

Sushma Swaraj, tipped to be the external affairs minister, would be a CCS member.

The prime minister, and ministers of home, defence, finance and external affairs constitute the CCS.

Najma Heptulla (74), a Rajya Sabha member since 1980, is the eldest woman minister while actress-turned-politician Smriti Irani (38) is the youngest in the cabinet.

Heptulla, BJP's Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh, was also Modi's lone Muslim face.

Uma Bharti, Maneka Gandhi and Shiromani Akali Dal's Harsimrat Kaur Badal are the other women cabinet ministers.

Besides the six cabinet ministers, BJP's Nirmala Sitharaman took oath as minister of state with independent charge.

Seetharaman, who is not an MP, has to secure either a Lok Sabha seat or a Rajya Sabha membership within six months to continue in office.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal (48), the Akali Dal MP from Bathinda, is the lone woman from an ally to be sworn-in as a cabinet minister.

In the outgoing Manmohan Singh government, there were just seven women out of 71 ministers and only two - Girija Vyas and Chandresh Katoch - were in the cabinet.

The number of women ministers may increase as Modi is expected to expand the cabinet soon.

If more women come in, it would be icing on the cake as the 16th Lok Sabha has the highest number of women members - 61 - in Lok Sabha history. The Rajya Sabha has 29 women members.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp