Ansari Picks 7 MPs to Represent Telangana in Rajya Sabha

Published: 30th May 2014 09:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 30th May 2014 09:17 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha chairman Hamid Ansari Friday decided, through draw of lots, the names of seven MPs deemed to have been elected from seats allotted to Telangana under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act. Four of the MPs belong to Congress and three to TDP.

A Rajya Sabha release said that Gundu Sudharani, C.M. Ramesh and Garikapati Mohan Rao of the Telugu Desam Party and V. Hanumantha Rao, Palavi Govardhan Reddy, Ananda Bhaskar Rapolu and Dr K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao of the Congress would be deemed to have been elected from seven seats of Telangana from June 2, when the new state will come into being.

"In pursuance of the provisions contained in section 13 and the first schedule of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, the chairman, Rajya Sabha has by draw of lots on May 30 determined the seven members from the existing state of Andhra Pradesh, who shall be deemed to have been elected to fill seven seats allotted to the state of Telangana," the release said.

Out of the 18 members originally representing the state in parliament's upper house, the remaining 11 members, including one seat which is vacant, will be deemed to have been elected from the new, residuary state of Andhra Pradesh.

Sources said there was some rethink in the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Deomocratic Alliance government on going ahead with "the lottery system" due to possibility of members belonging to Andhra Pradesh representing Telangana and vice-versa. However, the decision was taken on the basis of draw of lots.

While the terms of Sudharani and Hanumantha Rao will end in July 2016, that of Mohan Rao and Ramachandra Rao will end in April 2020.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp