173 Candidates to Contest Maharashtra Polls from Nashik

Published: 01st October 2014 09:45 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st October 2014 09:45 PM   |  A+A-


NASHIK: As many as 173 candidates of political parties including the Congress, NCP, BJP, Shiv Sena and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) remain in the fray in 15 assembly constituencies in Nashik district, collector Vilas Patil and returning officer said here today.      

He said that 313 candidates filled up nominations for 15 assembly constituencies and after scrutiny, 264 candidates remained valid. Later, 91 candidates withdrew nominations on September 30 and October 1, there are 173 candidates in the fray, he told reporters here today.    

Important constestants are former Maharashtra Public Works Department Minister Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP) from Yeola, his son sitting NCP MLA Pankaj Bhujbal from Nandgaon, BJP's Maharashtra state unit general secretary Seema Hiray from Nashik (West), Centre for Indian Trade Unions (CITU) state unit general secretary D L Karad from Nashik (West), former Nashik Municipal Corporation Mayor Dashrath Dharmaji Patil (Congress) from Nashik West, former BJP Deputy Mayor Devyani Pharande, former minister and senior Shiv Sena leader Babanrao Gholap's son Yogesh Gholap from Devlali.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp