After BJP's Impressive Win, Race for Haryana CM Opens Up

BJP won 47 seats in the 90-member Assembly, which was by far the saffron party\'s best ever-performance in the state\'s 48-year-old history.

Published: 19th October 2014 11:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th October 2014 11:08 PM   |  A+A-


CHANDIGARH:  After BJP's decision to go solo in Haryana paid off with the party storming to power for the first time on its own, the race for chief minister's post has now intensified with names of many aspirants doing rounds.    

BJP won 47 seats in the 90-member Assembly, which was by far the saffron party's best ever-performance in the state's 48-year-old history.  

The elections proved that "Modi wave" had not waned in Haryana despite Congress and INLD's claims to the contrary.         

Prominent among the BJP candidates who won include state president Ram Bilas Sharma, national spokesperson Captain Abhimanyu Singh, party's Kisan Morcha president Om Prakash Dhankhar, former RSS leader M L Khattar and BJP legislature party leader Anil Vij.   

These names are doing rounds in BJP circles for the top job, party sources said. The possibility of External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj being brought back to the state in case of too many aspirants staking claim has not been ruled out.     

Swaraj had contested the polls under the banner of Janata Party which was formed after the Emergency imposed by then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1975.          She was elected from Ambala Cantt Assembly constituency in the 1977 polls when the Janata Party had won 75 of the 90 seats.   

BJP just before the elections had dumped its ally Kuldeep Bishnoi-led HJC-BL with which it had contested the recent Lok Sabha election.

It is for the first time that BJP has gained majority in Haryana on its own as in the past occasions it had played second fiddle to parties like INLD, with whom it was in alliance earlier.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp