Khattar Takes Oath as CM of Haryana's First BJP Government

Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki administered the oath of office and secrecy to Khattar at a public ceremony at the Mela Ground in Sector 5 of Panchkula town, adjoining Chandigarh.

Published: 26th October 2014 11:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th October 2014 02:59 PM   |  A+A-

Manohar Lal Khattar3PTI

PANCHKULA: Manohar Lal Khattar, a low-profile organisation man with active RSS background, was today sworn in as Chief Minister of Haryana, where BJP has formed government for the first time on its own.

60-year-old Khattar, a first-time MLA from Karnal and a non-Jat leader known to be close to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, was administered the oath along with nine ministers by Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki at a function here attended by a galaxy of BJP leaders including the PM, party chief Amit Shah, Union ministers, Chief Ministers of BJP ruled states and veterans L K Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

The six cabinet ministers are Kavita Jain, state BJP president Ram Bilas Sharma, Abhimanyu, Om Parkash Dhankar, Anil Vij and Narbir Singh. Three others -- Vikram Singh Thekedar, Krishan Kumar Bedi and Karan Dev Kamboj-- are ministers of state (independent charge).

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, whose party SAD had opposed the BJP during the assembly elections despite being an NDA constituent, also attended the ceremony.

Among Union Ministers who were present were Home Minister Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Power Minister Piyush Goyal, Food Minister Ram Vilas Paswan, Minister of Shipping and Transport Krishan Pal Gujjar, Mminister of Women and Child Development Maneka Gandhi, Minister of State of External Affairs V K Singh and Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers Ananth Kumar.

Chief Ministers of BJP ruled states including Madhya Pradesh's Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Vasundhara Raje from Rajasthan and Gujarat CM Anandiben Patel were also present on the occasion.

In a departure from the past, the oath-taking function was held at Panchkula instead of Chandigarh, the common capital of both Haryana and Punjab.

Khattar is Haryana's first non-Jat chief minister in nearly two decades. Jats have for long dominated politics in the state.

Also Read

Senior BJP Leaders Attend Haryana CM's Swearing-in 

A Reputed Strategist, Tough Taskmaster

Manohar Lal Khattar: From RSS Pracharak to Haryana CM 

Khattar Stakes Claim for First BJP Government in Haryana 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp