Mumbai Council Polls: Congress Wins 3, Sena 2, Others Bag 1 Seat Each

Published: 30th December 2015 03:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 30th December 2015 03:47 PM   |  A+A-


MUMBAI:Major political parties retained their respective strength in Maharashtra Legislative Councilafter the recent round of elections to seven local authorities constituencies the results of which were declared today.

The Congress won three seats, Shiv Sena won two, while the NCP, BJP and an Independent bagged one seat each. The elections to the seven local authorities constituencies of the state Legislative Council were held on Sunday in which 15 candidates were in the fray. Congress registered victory in one of the three seats

(for which elections were held) in Mumbai and in Dhule-Nandurbar and Kolhapur. The Shiv Sena won a seat each in Mumbai and Akola-Washim-Buldhana, while the BJP bagged Nagpur MLC seat.

Sena's Ramdas Kadam (securing 8,600) and Congress' Ashok alias Bhai Jagtap (bagging 6,400 votes) emerged victorious on one MLC seat each in Mumbai. Jagtap was facing a stiff challenge from former NCP leader and Independent candidate Prasad Lad, amid reports that a faction of about 20 Congress corporators cross-voted. The Sena and BJP together have 119 corporators in the house of 230 members in the Mumbai civic body, of which 201 actually cast their vote during the elections held on December27, while the others abstained.

In Nagpur, BJP's Girish Vyas was declared electedunopposed as there was no rival in the fray. In Dhule-Nandurbar, sitting Congress MLC Amrishbhai Patel

retained his seat by securing 352 votes. He was facing challenge from BJP's Dr Shashikant Wani.

In Kolhapur, former minister and Congress' official candidate Satej Patil won the seat, defeating sitting MLC and party rebel Mahadevrao Mahadik. Patil bagged 220 votes.

In Ahmednagar, sitting NCP MLC Arun Jagtap won by securing 243 votes. He was locked in a four-cornered contest with Congress's Jayant Sasane, who filed the nomination as a rebel candidate, and Shiv Sena's Shashikant Gade and the independent candidate Machindra Supekar.

In Akola-Washim-Buldhana, there was a straight contest between sitting Sena MLC Gopikisan Bajoriya and NCP's Ravindra Sapkal. Bajoriya, who polled 513 votes, defeated Sapkal at the seat.

Independent candidate Prashant Paricharak, who was supported by the BJP, won in Solapur by securing 261 votes. Out of the total 2,622 corporators, 2,585 cast their ballot, with the overall 98.59 per cent voting being recorded.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp