MLAs 'Elect' Nitish But Manjhi Refuses to Quit

Published: 08th February 2015 05:57 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th February 2015 08:52 AM   |  A+A-


PATNA: Politics in Bihar came a full circle on Saturday with Nitish Kumar once again elected as leader of the JD(U) Legislature Party at a meeting called by party president Sharad Yadav to replace CM Jitan Ram Manjhi who rebelled and recommended dissolution of the Legislative Assembly.

The Legislature Party meeting, which was termed as “unauthorised”, was attended by 97 of 111 JD(U) MLAs and 37 of 41 members of the Legislative Council, said party sources.

Earlier in the day, apparently anticipating the possible outcome of the Legislature Party meeting, Manjhi, who has refused to step down, called an unscheduled Cabinet meeting and proposed dissolution of the Assembly. The resolution was moved by Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh.  Seven ministers of the Cabinet okayed it, while 21 ministers refused to support it and walked out.  Food Minister Shyam Rajak, considered a hardcore Nitish backer, said those at the meeting who supported the proposal to dissolve the Assembly were Narendra Singh, Brishen Patel, Binay Bihari, Shahid Ali Khan, Nitish Mishra, Bhim Singh and Mahachandra Prasad Singh.

Before the Cabinet meet, a last minute patch-up bid was made between Nitish and Manjhi by other senior party leaders though without any positive outcome. Now the ball is in Acting Governor Keshri Nath Tripathy’s court. Tripathy earlier acted on Manjhi’s recommendation and sacked senior ministers Lalan Singh and P K Shahi. Both of them are considered very close to Nitish. Later in the evening, Manjhi requested the Governor to sack 15 more ministers loyal to Nitish.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp