Nitish Kumar Takes Oath as Bihar Chief Minister

Nitish Kumar on Sunday returned as the Chief Minister of Bihar, nine months after he resigned following his party’s massive defeat in the 2014 general elections.

Published: 22nd February 2015 05:51 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd February 2015 07:31 PM   |  A+A-


In this file photo, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. (File)


PATNA: Nine months after he stepped down, JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar was today sworn-in as the Bihar Chief Minister, ending days of political drama following a bitter power struggle with Jitan Ram Manjhi.        

Also Read: Nitish - The 'Chanakya' of Bihar Politics Has His Task Cut Out

63-year-old Kumar was administered the oath of office by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi at a glittering function at the Raj Bhawan, which was attended, among others by Manjhi, who had refused to quit as chief minister to make way for Kumar in defiance of the party leadership.  

Besides Kumar, 22 ministers, including three women, were also administered the oath of office.         

Former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, several chief ministers - Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Akhilesh Yadav (Uttar Pradesh), Tarun Gogoi (Assam) and INLD leader Abhay Chautala, were also present on the occasion.   

The ministers are : Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, Vijendra Prasad Yadav, Ramai Ram, Damodar Raut, Narendra Narayan Yadav, P.K. Shahi, Shyam Rajak, Awadesh Kushwaha, Lesie Singh, Dulal Chand Goswami, Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh, Shrawan Kumar, Ramlashan Ram Raman, Ramdhani Singh, Jai Kumar Singh, Manoj Kumar Singh, Javed Iqbal Ansari, Bima Bharti, Ranju Geeta, Baidyanath Sahni, Vinod Singh Yadav and Naushad Alam.   

Also Read: PM Congratulates Nitish on Becoming CM     

Of these 22 ministers in Kumar's team, 20 had resigned from the Manjhi government, while two others, namely P K Shahi and Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh, were sacked by the former chief minister.            

With today's swearing in, 63-year-old Kumar is back in the Chief Minister's chair he had quit on May 17, 2014 over JD(U)'s debacle in the general election.      

 After stepping down, Kumar, despite resistance from JD(U) legislators against his resignation, had his way and handpicked Manjhi to succeed him on May 20, 2014.        

But, within eight months of the decision Kumar was forced to change the plot in the wake of dissent against him by Manjhi along with a section of JD(U) ministers and legislators.     

BJP used the dissension to the hilt and extended support to Manjhi. But, the floor test could not be taken as Manjhi tendered his resignation ahead of the vote on Friday last.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp