Akhilesh Inducts 12 New Faces in His Cabinet

Published: 31st October 2015 12:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 31st October 2015 12:55 PM   |  A+A-


LUCKNOW: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Saturday inducted 12 new faces in his cabinet.

In all, 21 ministers, including those who have been promoted, took oath of office at the Raj Bhavan here.

The state government had earlier sacked eight ministers —- five cabinet ministers and three ministers of state (MoS) —- and stripped nine others of their portfolios.

Prominent sacked ministers included Raja Aridaman Singh and Shiv Kumar Beria.

The move is being seen as a major effort to refurbish the government’s image before the state goes to polls in 2017.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp