Bihar Polls: SP Quits Janata Parivar, to Fight Alone

SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav said: \"We will fight the (Bihar) election independently and with our full might.\"

Published: 03rd September 2015 01:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd September 2015 11:51 PM   |  A+A-


JD U leaders Nitish Kumar and Sharad Yadav RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and JD S chief H D Deve Gowda during a meeting at Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav's Delhi residence for the formation of a new alliance against the government in New Delhi o


LUCKNOW: The Samajwadi Party on Thursday walked out of the Janata Parivar and decided to contest the Bihar elections on its own, a leader said here.

Related Story - Mulayam Walks Out of Bihar Alliance, Sharad Says Grouping Intact
SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav said: "We will fight the (Bihar) election independently and with our full might."

He said that they neither met BJP chief Amit Shah nor Prime Minister Narendra Modi with regard to their decision to leave the Janata Parivar.

To a query, Yadav said: "We will definitely meet the prime minister whenever there is an administrative need or for (financial assistance) for the state."

Reacting to the development, senior Bihar BJP legislator Arun Sinha told IANS: "The act of Samajwadi Party shows how desperate and over ambitious the parties were in the alliance. All of them had come together just for the sake of their personal benefits." 

The ruling JD-U has "cheated everyone", Sinha said after the SP pulled out of the Janata Parivar.

Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United, and Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal, besides others, came together to contest the Bihar assembly elections as Janata Parivar, a sort of anti-Modi bloc.

Yadav said that at the time of Janata Parivar's formation, "I had said that I will not sign the party's death warrant".

He said that the party's Bihar unit will prepare a list of candidates for the upcoming elections.

The Janata Parivar was keen to take on Bharatiya Janata Party that has done well in a string of state polls.

Besides the Samajwadi Party, the other Janata Parivar constituents are Janata Dal-United, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Janata Dal (Secular), the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and Samajwadi Janata Party (Chandra Shekhar).

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp