Two GJM Members Resign From Bengal Assembly

Two GJM MLAs, Trilok, Rohit, out of the total three tendered their resignations as members of West Bengal assembly.

Published: 21st September 2015 04:58 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st September 2015 04:58 PM   |  A+A-


KOLKATA: Two Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) MLAs, Trilok Dewan and Rohit Sharma, out of the total three today tendered their resignations as members of West Bengal assembly.

Dewan, GJM MLA from Darjeeling constituency, submitted his resignation to Speaker Biman Banerjee in his chamber.

Later the speaker told the house that Dewan's resignation has been accepted.

Dewan told reporters in the assembly premises that he had also resigned from the party as well due to the autocratic nature of GJM's top leadership.

Sharma, who is Kurseong MLA, attended the morning session of the House. He rose from his seat holding a placard and said he was resigning due to excessive interference of West Bengal government in the affairs of Gorkha Territorial Administration (GTA).

He alleged that GTA was not being allowed to function properly by the state government, which, he said, was also not listening to the voice of the people of the hills.

When Sharma was approaching the Speaker's chair to submit his papers, he was told to give them in Banerjee's chamber.

Sharma later told newsmen that the state government was dividing the Gorkha community for forming boards for Lepchas, Bhutias and Sherpas.

He said his party would not deviate from the demand of a separate Gorkhaland state which was a part of the GTA pact signed in 2011.

GJM had on September 12 announced that its three MLAs would resign to protest the alleged non-cooperation of the state government with GTA.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp