BJP Unveils List of Star Campaigners for Bihar Elections

Published: 23rd September 2015 11:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd September 2015 11:11 PM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: The BJP unveiled its list of star campaigners for the Bihar elections who would be travelling across the state to drum up support for the saffron party.

Setting at rest the speculation over the inclusion of names of party veterans like LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, the BJP sent a list of 40 leaders to the Election Commission on Tuesday.  Leading the party’s charge in the state would be Prime Minister Narendra Modi who will address a number of rallies in the state. Among the key campaigners would be BJP chief Amit Shah, chief ministers from the BJP-ruled states, the union ministers like Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari,  Smriti Irani, apart from union ministers belonging to Bihar.

The party played safe by including the name of MP Shatrughan Sinha, who had been blowing hot and cold in state. Party sources said his name has been included as otherwise it could have led to a controversy, which would have harmed its prospects in the state.

The party has prepared judicious mix of leaders to woo voters in the caste-ridden state.  Celebrities too have been made part of the campaigners. Party MP and actress Hema Malini, cricketer-turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, actor-MP Manoj Tewari will used for their appeal beyond the political theatre.

The star campaigners also include Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari Ananth Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Dharmendra Pradhan, Giriraj Singh and Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das also will campaign in the state. Party’s star leaders Hema Malini and Navjot Singh Sidhu also are there in the list of campaigners.

The other names on the list are: ministers Ananth Kumar, who is also party’s election incharge of Bihar, petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan,  ministers from Bihar: Radha Mohan Singh, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Giriraj Singh, Ram Kirpal Yadav.

“We have three-tier list of leaders for the campaign- central leaders, state leaders and celebrities and party workers. Our list of leaders who would campaign in the state is much larger. But as rules mandate, list of 40 leaders is to be supplied to the Election Commission,” BJP general secretary Arun Singh said.

The list of star campaigners help the parties in managing their election expenditure. The money spent on star campaigners in terms of logistics is not included in the expenditure done by individual candidates in whose constituency these leaders would campaign.

The state leaders who figure in the star campaigners list are: Sushil Kumar Modi, Mangal Panday, Shahnawaz Hussain, CP Thakur, Nandkishore Yadav, Hukumdev Narain  Yadav, Janak Chamar, Ajay Nishad, Nityanand rai and Stayendra Narayan Kushwaha.

Among the chief ministers, Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Jharkhand CM Radghubar Das have been included. Tribal leader Arjun Munda is also part of the list.

 BJP taunted JDU-RJD--Congress combine saying that they donot even have 40 leaders to showcase for their campaign, while the saffron party has huge number of leaders who would carpet bomb the state with hundreds of rallies.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp