Seven states begin voting for 27 Rajya Sabha seats, counting at 5 pm

Out of 57 vacant RS seats, voting will take place for 27 seats today as 30 candidates were declared elected unopposed.

Published: 11th June 2016 09:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th June 2016 06:27 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Polling is being held today in the crucial election to 27 Rajya Sabha seats in seven states, with a keen contest on cards in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Haryana.

While 30 of the total 57 seats in the current round of biennial elections to the Upper House have already been decided without a contest, the fate of candidates for the remaining 27 seats will be decided by this evening when the results will be announced. 

Polling began at Assembly premises in the state capitals at 9 AM and will continue till 4 PM.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp