We Will Ensure Voters Are Not Influenced: CEC on Rajiv Gandhi Killer's Issue

He was responding to a question after announcing Assembly election schedule for Tamil Nadu along with West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Published: 04th March 2016 08:34 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th March 2016 08:34 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: The Election Commission today said it will take an "appropriate view" to ensure voters are not influenced if any reference comes to it on Tamil Nadu government's decision to remit the life sentence of killers of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

"As and when the reference comes, the Commission will take an appropriate view just to ensure that our voters are not influenced," Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said at a press conference here.

He was responding to a question after announcing Assembly election schedule for Tamil Nadu along with West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

With the announcement, the model code of conduct has come into force under which state governments or the Centre are barred from taking decisions without consulting EC which can affect the level playing field of political parties.

Asked 'whether' the Ministry of Home Affairs would be approaching the poll panel on the issue as the Tamil Nadu government has sought the Centre's view on the issue, Zaidi said the Commission will "not speculate" at this point of time.

The Centre had yesterday said it will abide by Supreme Court verdict on the issue of freeing convicts, a day after Tamil Nadu government decided to remit the life sentence of all the seven killers of Rajiv Gandhi.

The Supreme Court had on December 2, 2015 held that the Centre and not State government will have the "primacy" and that states cannot exercise "suo motu" the power to decide whether persons convicted in matters of the CBI or central agency should be released or not on remission, dealing a blow to efforts by the state government to release all the convicts in the Rajiv Gandhi assassination case.

Congress opposed the decision of the AIADMK government to remit the sentence of the convicts, calling it "very unfortunate". The state government had also sought the Centre's views on its move.

The convicts are V Sriharan alias Murugan, T Suthendraraja alias Santhan, A G Perarivalan alias Arivu, Jayakumar, Robert Payas, Ravichandran and Nalini.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp