Polling begins in DU, JNU for President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary

According to the Chief Election Commissioner for DUSU polls, a total of 17 candidates are in fray for the four posts of Delhi University Students\' Union office-bearers.

Published: 09th September 2016 04:16 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th September 2016 04:16 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Polling began on Friday morning in the two politically active varsities -- University of Delhi and Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) -- for the post of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary.

The elections for the morning colleges of the Delhi University (DU) started at 8.30 a.m. across 117 booths set up at 51 colleges of Delhi University and end at 12.30 p.m. while the elections for the evening colleges will start at 3 p.m. and end at 7 p.m.

Meanwhile, the polling in the JNU started at 9 a.m. and will go on till 5 p.m.

According to the Chief Election Commissioner for DUSU polls, a total of 17 candidates are in fray for the four posts of Delhi University Students' Union office-bearers.

Seven candidates are in race for the post of President and four for the post of Vice-President. Three contestants each are in fray for the Secretary and Joint Secretary post.

The votes will be counted on Saturday and the results declared on the same day.

"It is going to be a close fight. But we are confident of winning," Angellica Aribam, National General Secretary of National Students' Union of India (NSUI) told IANS.

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), affiliated to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), swept all the four posts by huge margins in last year's elections.

Last year, ABVP defeated Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), affiliated to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), NSUI, affiliated to Congress and All India Students' Association (AISA), affiliated to the Communist Party of India.

Amit Tanwar is the ABVP presidential candidate this year.

The NSUI has fielded first-year LLB student Nikhil Yadav as its presidential candidate. The AISA's presidential candidate is Kawalpreet Kaur, who is also a law student.

The CYSS is not contesting this year. It was unable to win any seat last year during it first contest in the DUSU elections.

The results of the JNU polls would be declared on Sunday.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp